SCCM will be performing website maintenance on Friday, December 14, 2018, between  2 p.m. and Midnight Central Time. The SCCM store,, MySCCM, and will be offline during these hours.


The SCCM Carolinas/Virginias Chapter is a multiprofessional organization comprised of critical care practitioners in four states -- North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia -- whose purpose is to foster collaboration among caregivers at a regional level for the enhancement of patient care. Members of the chapter include physicians and physicians-in-training, nurses, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, dietitians, veterinarians, physician assistants, prehospital personnel, and industry representatives. Our mission statement is as follows:  "To serve the needs and represent the interests of critical care practitioners;  to provide opportunities for involvement in local and regional activities;  and to ensure the delivery of the highest quality of care to our communities."
The Carolinas/Virginias Chapter promotes educational opportunities throughout the year, the highlight of which is the Annual Scientific Symposium. The Board members are proud of the ability of the chapter to provide scholarships for deserving members to help defray the cost of attending the symposium. Chapter members receive a newsletter, listing our activities and including abstracts and other educational materials provided by our members.

SCCM Connect  
Chapter Members: Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. 

Chapter Officers

As one of the largest SCCM chapters, the Carolinas/Virginias Chapter is dynamic and continuously evolving.  Many chapter projects are ongoing, with the goals of increasing membership participation and enhancing the value of chapter membership. If you would like to become involved in one of the many chapter activities, please contact:
Kwame Akuamoah-Boateng, ACNP-BC, MSN, BSN, RN 

President Elect
Carrie L Griffiths, Pharm.D., BCCCP 

Kristie Hertel 

Christopher Todd Borchers, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC 

Past President
Christina Szabo, PhD, RN, CCRN, CNRN 

Board of Directors
Dr. Suresh Kumar Agarwal, Jr.
Rhae S. Newbill, BSN, RN, CCRN 
Dr. Bryan Richard Collier
Dr. Benjamin A. Moses
Dr. Amy Alger