Log In
Forgot username or password?
New User? Sign Up Free.

Internal Medicine Section

Guidelines for Governance
​SCCM Connect 
Section Members: Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests.
Internal Medicine is the branch of medicine that diagnoses and non-surgically treats diseases affecting the internal organs of the body. The Internal Medicine Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine provides a forum for discussion and action on issues of importance to internal medicine intensivists.

The Internal Medicine Section is the largest section of the Society, accounting for approximately 32% of SCCM membership.
Internal Medicine Section members contribute to both the section and SCCM at large. Many members exhibit active involvement and assertive leadership through section committees, including Bylaws, Education, Research, Membership, Communication and Public Policy Committees. In addition to a designated seat on Council, the Internal Medicine Section is represented on many of SCCM's important committees, such as Advocacy, Strategic Planning, Research and Program Development Committees.

Section Officers

Elliott D. Crouser, MD
Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Term: 2019 – 2021

Hayley B. Gershengorn, MD, FCCM
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, Florida, USA
Term: 2019 - 2021

Leo C. Rotello, MD, FCCM
Suburban Hospital
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Term: 2019 - 2021

Past Chair:
Mark E. Mikkelsen, MD, MSCE, FCCM
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2019 - 2021

Members at-Large:
Jennifer A. LaRosa, BA, MD, FCCM
Morristown Medical Center
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Term: ​2019 - 2022

David J. Murphy, MD, PhD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, Georgia USA
Term: 2017 - 2021

Rahul Sudhir Nanchal, MD, FCCM
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Term: 2018 - 2021

John P. Reilly, MD, MS
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2019 - 2022

Kenneth E. Remy, MD, MHSc
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Term: 2019 – 2022

Bram Rochwerg, MD, MSc (Epi), FRCPC
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Term: 2018 - 2021

Council Liaison:
Marie R. Baldisseri, MD, MPH, FCCM
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA