Patient Safety First! Award

The Patient Safety First! Award recognizes one intensive care unit (ICU) or program that demonstrates novel, effective patient safety initiatives for critically ill and injured patients. The awarded team will receive a commemorative plaque and one complimentary registration to the Society of Critical Care Medicine’s (SCCM) Critical Care Congress. 
Deadline and Submission 
The deadline to submit an application is August 1. The application submission period will open soon.
The application will describe the critical care setting of the team and how it supports patient safety. Patient safety initiatives must have been in place for at least one year. By submitting an application, the team agrees to allow SCCM to use information from its application to publicly promote innovations in education and the award. 
  • The selection committee considers the following criteria when evaluating applications: 
  • Length of time patient safety initiatives have been in place (at least one year) 
  • Implementation of specific project(s) linked to direct patient safety and patient care 
  • Demonstration of innovation that provides models for emulation 
  • Evidence of multiprofessional efforts to improve care in the ICU 
  • Provision of data for evaluation of effectiveness 
  • The award application must be submitted by an SCCM member. 
  • Members of the Quality and Safety or related section committees are not eligible to apply during their terms of service. 
  • Awarded teams must wait at least three years after receiving the award to reapply. They can reapply only if their application demonstrates new initiatives, not continuations of previous applications. 
  • A representative from the awarded ICU or program must agree to participate in a podcast to discuss the program. 
Notification and Process 
Prior to the Critical Care Congress, SCCM will notify all applicants of the results. The award will presented at the SCCM Awards/American College of Critical Care Medicine Convocation Ceremony during the Critical Care Congress. 

For more information, contact Lori Harmon.