Nursing Section

Guidelines for Governance

SCCM Connect (beta)
Log in with your SCCM Customer ID to access SCCM Connect, a new collaborative space to connect members of the critical care community with common interests. This space will combine the functionality of the iRoom and eCommunity.

Members Only: Section iRoom - Closing Winter 2018
Public Forum: Section eCommunity - Closing Winter 2018

The Nursing Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine is a vibrant and active specialty section composed of nurses and other healthcare professionals from diverse clinical, administrative, educational, and research roles in the field of critical care. The Nursing Section exists to further the education and promote the interest of Society members who have special interest and maintain activity as nurses and other healthcare professionals in critical care.
The Nursing Section governance provides a structure and forum for representation in the section to discuss and act upon specialty-specific issues and to affect change on a more personal level. The governance is guided by a strategic plan and enacted by the section leadership. A variety of section committee opportunities are available, including Advanced Practice and Professional Development, Communication and Recognition, Membership, and Research Committees. The Nursing Section communicates with its members via broadcast emails and the SCCM iRoom. In addition to networking and communicating with nursing professionals within the Society, members can communicate on a broader scale using the Advanced Nursing Practice in Acute and Critical Care (ANPACC) electronic listserv. The section also provides a variety of programs.

Nursing Section members are also eligible for a variety of section-specific awards and grants, including the Research Scholarship Award, the ICCN-SCCM Award, the Norma J. Shoemaker Grant for Critical Care Nursing Research, and the Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence.

Section membership provides a voice within the Society, a chance to influence the direction and decision-making of SCCM, including membership on Society-wide committees. Mentorship for nurses seeking Fellowship in the American College of Critical Care Medicine is also available through the section.


 Section Officers

Sandy M. Swoboda, RN, MS, FCCM
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Term: 2016 – 2018
Brian K. Jefferson, ACNP, DNP, FCCM
Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Term: 2016 - 2018
Kathryn M. Moore, CCRN, DNP, FCCM
Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Term: 2016 - 2018
Members at-Large:
Daniel Arellano, ACNP, CCRN, MSN
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas
Term 2017-2020
Samantha Gambles Farr, MSN NP-C
UC San Diego Health System
San Diego, California, USA
Term: 2016 - 2019
Heather Meissen, ACNP, CCRN, FCCM
Emory Healthcare
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Term: 2015 – 2018
Subcommittee Information
Advanced Practice/Professional Development Subcommittee:
Lisa M. Soltis, BA, BSN, CCNS, CCRN, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2017 - 2019
Membership and Recognition Subcommittee:
Ron Della Valle, CCRN, MSN, RN, Chair
Term: 2016 - 2018
Research and Scholarship Subcommittee:
Mary E. Lough, CCRN, CNS, PhD, FCCM, Chair
Term: 2017 - 2019
Council Liaison:
Lauren R. Sorce, ACNP, CCRN, MSN, FCCM
Ann & Robert H Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

 eCommunity News

Latest eCommunity News

This Forum is Closed - Visit

Nursing Section Reception Save the Date Sunday 6-7p

Congress Nursing Section Meetings and Update

Represent the Nursing Section Team for a Critical Care Quiz Show at Congress

2019 Congress Session Proposal deadline Jan 31

Inaugural SCCM Critical Care Quiz Show at Congress Please apply to compete

Nursing Section Electronic Voting Deadline Jan 15

2019 Congress - Call for Session Proposals deadline Jan 31, 2018

Nominations for Nursing Section Ballot Due Nov 30

ICCN Award Deadline Nov 30th : All required info in this post

List Digest, Nov 15, 2017

List Digest, Nov 13, 2017

WFCCN Free Resource for all

ICCN Award Update: Applications due Nov 30

Nominations for Chair and At Large Positions open until Nov 30

SCCM Simulation and Education Subcommittee and Delphi Study Volunteers needed

SCCM Nursing Section Shark Bait Applications: Jump In!!

[External] List Digest, Sep 19, 2017

[External] List Digest, Sep 20, 2017

Ziad Alsokary, CRNA, ARNP, MSN, MS, CNS, CCRN, CLNC Resume and Expertise

List Digest, Sep 19, 2017

SCCM Nursing Section Opportunity: What is your Expertise?

Run for Nursing Section Office

Short term Task Force Opportunity with Patient Family Ed Committee

Shark Bait Applications Wanted

List Digest, Aug 09, 2017

SCCM Nursing Section Opportunity: What is your Expertise?

Tied Mitts

SCCM Nursing Section Request for Survey Completion from WFSICCM

SCCM Nursing Section Announce Applications Open for Shark Bait

Advance Practice Provider Privileges

SCCM Nursing Section: APP Task Force Update

List Digest, Jun 13, 2017

SCCM Critical Care Advanced Practice Providers (APP) Work Taskforce PA-Nursing Section Collaboration

Seeking Volunteers for Updating/Writing Guidelines

List Digest, May 08, 2017

List Digest, May 05, 2017

Happy Nurses Week

Get Involved in SCCM Society Wide Committees: Deadline to Apply May 1

SCCM Opportunities for Involvement

Request for Abstracts for Conference Speakers

Critical Care APN Resource Agreement