Internal Medicine Section

​Members Only: Section iRoom
Internal Medicine is the branch of medicine that diagnoses and non-surgically treats diseases affecting the internal organs of the body. The Internal Medicine Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine provides a forum for discussion and action on issues of importance to internal medicine intensivists.

The Internal Medicine Section is the largest section of the Society, accounting for approximately 32% of SCCM membership.
Internal Medicine Section members contribute to both the section and SCCM at large. Many members exhibit active involvement and assertive leadership through section committees, including Bylaws, Education, Research, Membership, Communication and Public Policy Committees. In addition to a designated seat on Council, the Internal Medicine Section is represented on many of SCCM's important committees, such as Advocacy, Strategic Planning, Research and Program Development Committees.

 Section Officers

Mark E. Mikkelsen, MD, MSCE
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Term: 2017 - 2019
Elliott D. Crouser, MD
Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Term: 2017 - 2019
To be determined
Term: 2017 - 2019
Past Chair:
Jonathan E. Sevransky, MD, FCCM
Emory University Hospital
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Term: 2017 - 2019
Members at-Large:
Hayley B. Gershengorn, MD, FCCM
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, New York, USA
Term: 2015 - 2018
Mehrnaz Hadian, MD, MS, JD, FCCM
Inspire Critical Care Medicine
West Hollywood, California, USA
Term: 2016 - 2019
Jorge L. Hidalgo, MD, MACP, MCCM
Karl Heusner Memorial Hospital/Belize Healthcare Partners
Belize City, Belize
Term: 2015 - 2018
Sarah J. Lee, MD. MPH
Wayne State University School of Medicine
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Term: 2015 – 2018
Leo C. Rotello, MD, FCCM
Johns Hopkins Medicine at Suburban Hospital
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Term: 2016 - 2019
Ryan Zarychanski, MD, MSc
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Term: 2016 - 2019
Consultant Advisor:
Antoinette Spevetz, MD, FCCM
Cooper University Hospital
Camden, New Jersey, USA
Council Liaison:
Greg S. Martin, MD, MS, FCCM
Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

 eCommunity News

Latest eCommunity News

IHTMS 2016
On behalf of our scientific committee (Drs. Nagao [Japan], Friberg [Sweden], Andrews [UK], Seder [USA], and Dietrich [USA]), and my Co-charis (Drs. Gaieski and Jallo [USA]), I would like to extend your organization an invitation to participate in the upc