Established in 1983, the SCCM Awards and Grants program promotes excellence in critical care teaching and research for the improved care of the critically ill and injured. Awards are given annually to critical care practitioners and other healthcare practitioners who demonstrate dedication and innovation to the field of critical care and/or to the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

  • American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) Distinguished Investigator Award
  • Asmund S. Laerdal Memorial Lecture Award
  • Barry A. Shapiro Memorial Award for Excellence in Critical Care Management
  • Burchardi Award
  • Chapters Alliance Excellence Award
  • Drs. Vidyasagar and Nagamani Dharmapuri Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Dr. Joseph and Rae Brown Award
  • Family-Centered Care Innovation Award
  • Grenvik Family Award for Ethics
  • Honorary Life Membership
  • ICU Design Citation
  • ICU Heroes Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence
  • Presidential Citation
  • Safar Global Partner Award
  • Shubin-Weil Master Clinician/Teacher: Excellence in Bedside Teaching Award

    Abstract-Based Awards
    Annual Scientific Awards
    Specialty Awards
    Research Citations
    In-Training Award
    Young Investigator Award